A packed day of cross-border webinars

Every interest group now has a day in the calendar dedicated to raising awareness about it. It used to be just Christmas, Easter and various saints. Then we got “Mothers Day”, and after that a flood. If there is not a Knit-your-own-organic-whale day, there surely soon will be.

19 November seems to be international cross-border webinar day, with at least three broadcasts today.

LDM Global and Robert Bond of Speechly Bircham combine to present one called When eDiscovery arises how will you gain individuals’ consent for data to ensure compliance with European Data Privacy Laws? at 4:00 pm GMT, 11:00 am EST. Subjects to be covered include interpretations of consent, from implied to express, individual rights for consent including withdrawal, exemptions and opting in or out and areas for application of consent including processing, data sharing and transfer outside of the EU.

Morgan Lewis have one called Navigating European Data Protection Laws in U.S. Litigation in which Stephanie A. “Tess” Blair (Moderator), Denise E. Backhouse, Robert B. Wiggins, Claude-Etienne Armingaud and Walter Ahrens cover a range of topics in what is described as an “advanced” session. Morgan Lewis are one of the leaders on this subject – see my post Information retention at e-Disclosure conference in Brussels for an account of a talk by Denise Backhouse at a Guidance Software panel. The white paper which Denise wrote for that is one of the most succinct sources of current information on the subject (see Guidance Software’s white papers resources page for more on this subject). The Morgan Lewis webcast is at 12:00 pm EST, 5.00 pm GMT

Last, but by no means least, is Virtual LegalTech. That runs all day today from 9:00 EST, 2.00pm GMT. There are several sessions, including one at 2.00 pm EST, 7.00 pm GMT called International Discovery which includes a section on EU cross-border practicalities. This is the one I will be at, not least because I am speaking at it, along with Michelle Mahoney of Mallesons Stephen Jaques in Australia, George Rudoy of Shearman & Sterling and Christopher Byrne of Wave Software.

Between them, these sessions will cover the full range of topics relevant to anyone who needs to collect data in the EU. As and when I find out about archived versions of these webinars I will point you to them.

Home

About Chris Dale

I have been an English solicitor since 1980. I run the e-Disclosure Information Project which collects and comments on information about electronic disclosure / eDiscovery and related subjects in the UK, the US, AsiaPac and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Litigation Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s